• Post author:
  • Post category:Yoga

Patanjali divided yoga into eight-part is known as ashtanga yoga. Let’s see the meaning of these:(1) Yam: follow the rules while you are interacting with someone or in other words, we can say when you deal with someone follow the rule of yam. yam is divided into five parts Satya, Ahimsa, Asteya, aparigraha, and brahmacharya. (2) Niyam: Niyam means self-discipline follows for yourself. Niyam includes Such, Santosh, Tapa, Swadhyay, Ishwarpranidhana. (3) Asana: Asana means physical posture.

(4) Pranayam: Pranayam is divided into two parts one is prana and the other is Ayam. Prana means life energy and Ayam means expanding or you can say in other words breathing exercises. In other words, you can say Pranayam means breath control. (5) Pratyahara: Pratyahara means your senses’ inner side. Moving your focus inside and control of the senses means pratyahara. (6) Dharana: Dharna means to concentrate your mind on one object, you can say in other words concentration. (7) Dhyana: Dhyana means turning the mind inward. Be calm and achieve your goal. Dhyana means awareness, witnessing, and sighting. (8) Samadhi: Samadhi means higher consciousness. samadhi belongs to your soul. Mind, body, and thought are not in the stage of samadhi. Samadhi is the last step of Astanga yoga

Name of Ashtanga yoga – Maharishi Patanjali

Ashtanga yoga
  1. Yama
    1. Ahimsha
    2. Satya
    3. Astey
    4. Brahmcharya
    5. Aparigraha
  2. Niyam
    1. Shaucha
    2. Santosh
    3. Tapas
    4. Svadhyaya
    5. Ishvarpranidhana
  3. Asana
  4. Pranayama
  5. Pratyahar
  6. Dharana
  7. Dhyana
  8. Samadhi

Information of Ashtanga yoga By Maharishi Patanjali

Ashtanga yoga - A Deep Science of Samadhi
  • Patanjali was the great sage of India, he created Yoga philosophy in an accurate and authenticated form as an explanation of Yoga.
  • Yoga philosophy is a very important and authenticated treatise, it contains the principles of yoga in simple and precise clear scientific language, so this book is very useful for every type of yoga practitioner.
  • Therefore, seekers seeking advancement in yoga must read the Yoga Darshan in which all the misconceptions related to yoga can be redressed. Maharishi Patanjali has divided Yoga philosophy into four parts.
  • Generally, Maharishi Patanjali has divided the yoga philosophy into the first Samadhi Pada, the Second sadhana pad, the third Vibhuti Pad, and the fourth kaivalya pad.

Basic purpose of Ashtanga yoga

Ashtanga yoga
  • The primary purpose of yoga is to stop the mind
  • In other words, That is, yoga fixed instinct
  • Generally, Ashtanga yoga comes in the part of the yoga Sadhan pad, which has been described by Maharishi Patanjali as the eight parts of yoga.
  • By performing the rituals of the eight limbs of yoga, that is, by bringing into conduct, purification of Vrities takes place, which makes the yogi possesses of the Ritambhara Pragya.
  • The yogi removes the mantle of ignorance and becomes aware of his self-form

Explanation of It


(1) Yama

  • Ahimsa: No one should be hurt by your words with your speech. every to do Love beings is non-violence
  • Satya: Lying is true it is untrue to hide the truth
  • Asteya: One must not steal nor have the intention to steal others’ property through action, speech, thought.
  • Brahmacharya: Follow celibacy in all action, mind, and words, control the senses
  • Aparigraha: Accumulation of wealth property for personal selfishness is a paragraph, Not collecting is Aparigraha

(2) Niyama

  • Sauch: Keep the body pure and the mind pure by following the truth, purify the soul by the following knowledge, purify the intellect
  • Santosh: Generally, According to your efforts, you are happy to be happy in the fruit you get, contentment is happy forever
  • Tapas: Generally, Tolerate for religion and duty is called tapas. It is ours to take the soul to God. Tenacity is performed with determination
  • Svadhyaya: Generally, The soul needs self-study just as we need food. Study yourself.
  • Ishwarpranidhana: Whatever you do, dedicate it to God. It does not have the arrogance to do. Experience God with you at all times.

(3) Asana: The state of sitting happily is called asana, in Hatha Yoga, there is a description of many asanas, in which asanas are suitable for cultivation, among them, asana is Padmasana Vajrasana Siddhasana.This asana is very useful in terms of health. If the seeker gets the practice of sitting in these asanas, he is called asana siddhi.

Know More

(4) Pranayama: Taking Pranavayu is breathing, and exiting is migration. Generally, When the motion of these two is severed, it is called Pranayama. Pranayama has been invented for the purification of the pulse. After their purification, the yogi gets the right over his prana so he can place his prana wherever he wants. Actually, Pranayama is a life force, it has many benefits.

(5) Pratyahara: Prana and Chit are both tied to each other. If the mind is in control then the prana automatically comes under control. On the contrary, if life comes under control, then the mind becomes in control, the famous sentence is where is soul, their Chitta. Generally, It is a deep connection of mind and life according to this. When the mind comes under control, the outer instincts of the senses are freed inside, the same state is called pratyahara.

(6) Dharana: Generally, When you start getting inward with pratyahara, it is applied to a goal, the mind is distracted by being fickle, then it is brought to the goal object repeatedly this process of a continuous flow of goal is called perception.

(7) Dhyana: When the mind starts living on an object for a long time due to the practice of continuous perception. Generally, That continuous flow of meditation is called meditation. There is a difference between meditation and meditation.

(8) Samadhi: If the difference between meditation and meditator is finished and only the goal remains, then that state is called samadhi.

Leave a Reply