In this article, I am going to discuss Yogic Kriyas: How To Do Yogic Cleansing Processes? Shatkarma ‘Shata’ means six and ‘Karma’ means to do some work or practice. There are six types of practices under Shata Karma whose practice is basically the process of physical purification. Vata, Pitta, Kapha are kept balanced through these. And the excreta of the body is removed. The process of purification is done through different types of practices like the nostrils, trachea, stomach and large intestine, the anus gate. The seekers who move in the field of yoga practice are first made to practice the Shata Karmas. And after that, they are made to move towards further exercises. By their practice, the body is cleansed and the process of expelling the extraneous substances is carried forward. Now let us discuss what are the six types of exercises.

Yogic Kriyas

Yogic Kriyas: How To Do Yogic Cleansing Processes

Dhauti, Basti, Neti, Trataka, Nauli, Kapalbhati These are the six types of Shatkarma. Now let us discuss all these in detail one by one.

(1) Neti:

  • First, let’s discuss Neti. Neti means one who receives through the nose. Any substance when we take something through the nose, then that process is called Neti.
  • Meaning if we are drinking water from the mouth, then we will tell him that this water has been drunk. But if we put the same water in the nose and take it inside the body through the nose or remove it, then that situation will be called Neti.
  • Carrying any substance through the nose is called Neti.
  • In this practice, the nasal passages and the anterior part of the brain are cleaned. Under Neti, there are many substances or substances, or the way water is called Jal Neti. The practice which is done from sutras is called Sutra Neti. Doodh Neti is done through milk and Ghee neti is done through ghee.
  • All this fluid is taken inside the nose and Neti is practiced. For cleaning the nasal passages, nostrils, and the anterior part of the brain. There are types of Neti such as Jal Neti, Sutra Neti, Ghee Neti, Doodh Neti, Oil Neti, and Ghrita (Ghee) Neti.

(2) Dhauti:

  • After this Dhauti is in second place. Dhauti means to wash, clean. Especially it is practiced for cleaning the stomach and esophagus.
  • This practice includes Vaman Dhauti, Cloth Dhauti, Dand Dhauti, Gajakarni.

(3) Nauli:

  • After this, Nauli is in third place. Nauli means tube or passage. The abdominal muscles are given the shape of a tube and it is made round. Its practice is especially done to make the abdominal muscles active and strong. And it is practiced to act on the Manipura Chakra.

Know more (Yogic Kriyas)

  • And it is practiced to act on the Manipura Chakra.

(4) Vasti:

  • Vasti is in fourth place. The lower part of the navel is called Vasti, the area around the large intestine. The word Basti is derived from Vasti.
  • It is basically practiced for cleaning the large intestine and the anus.
  • Water is drawn upwards from the anus as per the specific instructions. And then it is thrown out after some time by the same route.
  • It is practiced in two ways, Jal Vasti and Vayu Vasti.

(5) Kapalbhati:

  • The fifth one is Kapalbhati. Kapal means forehead.
  • Secondly, Kapal means the front part of the brain and Bhati means Brightness, Knowledge, Light, or Ronak.
  • Kapalbhati is especially practiced for cleaning the anterior part of the brain and the nasal canal.
  • There are many methods of Kapalbhati. Generally,There is a method that everyone is familiar with that. Like leaving the navel in and breathing out. But apart from this, it is called Vatakram Kapalbhati.
  • Secondly, Apart from this, there are other methods of Kapalbhati. In which exercises are done with water. Water is drawn out of the mouth by pulling it out of the nose, and water is drawn out from the nose by pulling it out of the mouth.

(6) Tratak:

  • Tratak is in sixth place. The meaning of Tratak it is to keep looking at the same place continuously by placing a pillow at any one place or on a particular object.
  • Generally, It is practiced for the purification of the eyes, for the enhancement of eyesight.
  • Generally, by its practice, the intellect becomes pure and soft and concentration increases.


Moreover, the practice of Shatkarma is a very sensitive practice. That is why its practice should be practiced only under special guidance. Moreover, a small defect in the practice of Shatkarmas or small negligence, mistake, or ignorance can cause a disease that can damage the body for life.

Leave a Reply